True Colors

I’ve seen a lot of things in the Barnstable High School girl’s bathroom. I’ve read inscriptions such as, “Life sucks but you gotta live it,” scrawled sloppily on the stalls. I’ve come across a lone chicken patty resting on the ground on one particularly sad day. And every time I head into the bathroom, I will usually find one girl in front of the mirror either putting makeup on, or doing her hair. Maybe she is really loving her look today and wants to touch up her lipstick. Maybe she was running late and didn’t have time to put her hair up into her go-to, messy bun at home. Regardless, they are doing what they like to make themselves feel beautiful.

I love spotting these girls making themselves up.

They are choosing how they want to present themselves and by watching them, I gain a little more insight into who they are as a person. They accept their surroundings and allow anyone who walks into the bathroom, a peek into their carefree routine. This comfort in who they are and how they look became my inspiration for this photoshoot.

To me, someone is the most beautiful is when they truly let loose of all inhibitions. When they showcase their bold, explosive personality without caring how others will react. Their beauty cannot be contained and they are uncontrollably themselves in those moments. When someone is being themselves and enjoying doing it, that is inarguably stunning.

Leave a comment