Dear New York,

You are the best friend I’ve ever had. You are the one I’d call at 3 am when I would just need to hear the comfort of a loved one’s stable breath. Your jutting skyline is the toothy grin that stabilizes my world, giving comfort with every glance out the window. Your sidewalk cracks act as directional arrows around every corner, reminding me I’m going in the right direction. Your honks, hisses, and howls are my jazz sound track scatting along with my footsteps. You are everything I need in a partner in crime and I am tremendously indebted to you. You have been my support system away from home, mirroring my loved ones. I see my father in the massive oaks amongst Central Park. I see my mother in the colorful window displays. I see my sister in the reflecting sunlight on skyline window. I see my oldest friends in the joyful dogs trotting along the sidewalks.

My darling city, I am so honored to have been welcomed into your bounds. In hopes of repaying all that you’ve done for me, I’m going to keep collaborating and contributing. I’m going to keep taking pictures, even if I look like a millennial fool. I am going to keep writing. I am going to keep making art. I know I will never be this fortunate ever again but I am going to commemorate everything within my power to honor your wonder. Not every moment is beautiful and I know I am optimistically naive, but I am so lucky and have no other option but to be hopeful. With my location, with my background, with my opportunities, with everything in my current situation, I am privileged. I am unfathomably fortunate for how you have refreshed, recharged, and rejuvenated me in a way I have never expected. I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to repay you for how you have mended and transformed my soul but I am incredibly grateful. My wallet may be verging on empty but my heart has never been this full and I thank you New York.

Love, 

Emma

IMG_8022.JPG

Leave a comment